Juicing…….

Hey guys, hope you are all well.

It’s been a very busy but productive day here. Shopping, more shopping, cooking and going to pick up my new juicer!!!!!! So exciting!!!! :) It was an absolute bargain, I went on eBay and found an amazing Jack LaLanne Power Juicer locally (well 40 minute drive away). It had 2 days to go, no bids and no watchers. I thought I’d be cheeky so I messaged the seller and asked if they had a buy it now price as I wanted a juicer ASAP. She came back with £10!!!!!!!!!!!!! £10 for a £100 juicer, well I snapped her hand off. LOL. I’m just in the process of cleaning it for a second time and will probably do it a few more times after that – baking soda, white wine vinegar, lemons, detergent you name it, I’m using it. A tad obsessive since its hardly been used, but, that’s me. ;)

You may ask why I have been looking into juicing? Thursday evening (same day as I did my last post) I was feeling a little unwell and all of a sudden my tongue started to feel very sore, like I had a load of ulcers in the centre of my tongue, it felt all tingly, fizzy might actually describe the sensation better, I went to look in the mirror and I had black spots where I thought the ulcers were!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Flamin’ Nora!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I had about 10, only the size of a pin head, some a little smaller, but its not a nice thing to see in your mouth, quite scary really. I looked online and there are various causes, etc, etc, I could turn into a right hypochondriac the amount of medical literature I have read in the past few months!!! HeHe…. Please don’t say I have already….. I checked Traditional Chinese Medicine guides, they were quite an interesting read. I also found a good article ”What your tongue can tell you about your health” on Yoga Today.

My body is literally screaming at me from every pore begging me to do something. I do feel a little better today, the vitamins and probiotics must be doing something, I felt like I actually had some energy. (I got vitamin drops B12 and D, but I’ve also got a lot of tablets/capsules to take (up to 14 a day!!!!), it makes me gag! I’ll just have to get over it :D !!!) My problem is I am deficient in everything but cannot tolerate eating the vegetables that will give me the nutrients I need. Most fruits, fibrous vegetables or vegetables with resistant starch in are a no no for me at the moment. Kind of limits the options!!!!!!!!!!! I read a Paleo forum discussion on juicing, a lady with an autoimmune condition commented, she couldnt tolerate certain vegetables and said she juiced them instead without any problems. Then I remembered a great blog I follow by Anna called Adventures in Transformation, she did a 92 day Juice Feast and is currently walking the wilds of Australia, amazing lady, she writes so beautifully, a very calming blog to read, it must be in the name ;) (Anna over at Oceannah has the same affect on me). Her juicing experience was pretty inspiring, now at this moment I dont know whether I will suppliment with juices or do a Juice feast / cleanse. I thought I would try out a few recipes and then make a decicison based on the taste. Could I stand just drinking juice???? Anyway I feel I need to do something pretty drastic, the GAPS / SCD diets I have been looking at are pretty restritive (for obvious reasons) so I’ll have to see, make an informed choice.

Positives
More energy today!!!! Hooray…..
7 hours uninterrupted sleep last night. Bliss….
Feeling excited about juicing possibilities.

To do
Further research on juicing.
Try out juicing (on the menu celery, cucumber, kale, spinach, watercress, rocket, carrots, ginger, green apples, mint and parsley) obviously fruit and higher sugar content veg like carrots will be in lesser quantities but I have a feeling without something ‘sweet’ I won’t be able to drink it.

20130209-164242.jpg Here’s a picture of my wonderful machine! It came with spare blades, all the manuals / recipe books and a great nutritional information guide on almost every fruit and veg known to man :)

I’m a happy bunny, best hop off to bed soon I think, try and get another 7 hours!!!! :)

Any advice / tips about juicing very welcome!!!!! Thanks…..

5 responses

    • I love your positive vibe! I will love it, I will love it, that’s what I keep telling myself……. It wasn’t as bad as I thought and I know its good for me and it’s what I need so I’ll just have to suck it up. LOL. :)

      • I think you are brave! It’s hard starting something new. What I love is hat you’ve done tons of research on how to get yourself well, and you’re doing something about it!

  1. I like carrot and tomato and putting in a bit of sweetener brings out the taste of the carrot. Have you seen the colour of green apples juiced? They are almost flourescent! Makes you wonder what this wee coloured stuff is people have been drinking :)

Leave a Reply

